Excuse me . . .

“Excuse me, but we’ve been watching your family and your children are so well-behaved.”

She went on to say how everyone at her table was impressed with their behavior. Bending down a bit, she told them how good they were.

How’s that for a conversation starter in a public restroom? How’s that for puffing up a young mom’s confidence when some days this mom wondered if she would need to fork over some big to help pay for their child’s psychologist bills.

Many mmealoons ago, we had taken our children to an appointment in a city forty minutes away. Since we were in the bigger city and it was time to feed some hungry tummies, we went to a sit down restaurant. The kind where the order is taken at the table and not at the counter.

I don’t remember much of the meal. I don’t remember anyone looking at us while we waited and then ate. But I remember the woman who spoke those words to me and our children in the woman’s restroom. Of course I thanked her for the kind words. And, naturally turned it into a life lesson for our young children.

Exhibit A: You never know when someone is watching what you do or say (in a non-creepy way, of course).

Which got me thinking, we, as adults, never know when someone is watching us. In the office, do I display a Christ-like attitude? No one is perfect like Christ but we can strive to emulate His traits like love, kindness, grace, and truth…just to name a few. Do I fail? You bet your new fall boots I do! More times than not I’m just a terrible person. But, isn’t it a wonderful feeling to know even though I fail, there is always another minute where I can apologize or show grace when it wasn’t my first reaction. I will admit it may take me another day before I finally come to my senses and can extend that grace. Yup, He is still working on me!

May we strive to be people in which others see a glimpse of Christ working His good and perfect will through. Even when we don’t think anyone is watching.

Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace. Where there is hatred, let me sow love; where there is injury, pardon; where there is doubt, faith; where there is despair, hope; where there is darkness, light; where there is sadness, joy.

O, Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console; to be understood as to understand; to be loved as to love; For it is in giving that we receive; it is in pardoning that we are pardoned; it is in dying that we are born again to eternal life.    [and all God’s people said…Amen!]

– St. Francis Prayer

Leave a Reply

