Have Courage and Be Kind

Guys. Life. Life happened this week and I don’t even want to talk about it. Life is hard when there are other people in the world. I mean, really, what was God thinking populating this earth. (no, I didn’t get struck down by lightning) Good thing He is God and I am not.

Life was kind of hard this week with it ending with a blick, blick, blick issue. I have a wonderful group of women who I know I can call on to pray when needs arise. Rarely do I request prayer for myself. Because pride. (sigh…yes, I’m a mess but God still loves this messy woman) This week I sent out a quick “I need prayer now”. And, soon after I felt myself calm down even though the issue has yet to be resolved.

Later I told my wonderful group of praying women the reason for the quick cry for prayer. Okay, fine. I wrote a book. Some might say an autobiography. Tomato. Tomahto.

This group is so encouraging. One particular person, who has been encouraging me to do something that would require a huge step-out-in-faith-move to which absolutely, positively freaks me out, brought up this particular item again. I knew she would and she didn’t disappoint.

brave
Canvas I purchased with phrases from an Annie F. Downs book, Let’s All Be Brave. Perhaps I should re-read it! 

Since I was in a blick mood at the week’s end, a daughter suggested a movie. She had it narrowed down to 5. I narrowed it down to 2 and made her choose. She picked Cinderella (the one with real people. not the cartoon one. why I am over explaining this I have no idea. it seems more grown up with you knowing it was the one with real people. annnyyywayyy….).

As it just so “happens”, Ella’s mom says something I needed to hear. “Be courageous and be kind.” Stab me in the heart why don’t you, Disney. On top of this and my friend’s suggestion, you would not believe how many verses I’ve read this week on being brave. Being courageous. Trusting God. It’s like He is trying to tell this stubborn person something!

May I tell you something? Come close {looks around, leans in close and whispers} Courage scares me. What if I fail. What.if. I know. I know I can’t live my life afraid of the what ifs. I’m not even sure what it looks like to be brave. There. I said it.

So, if you are like me, please join with me on meditating on these words.

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.   Joshua 1:9

And may you (and I) always remember God is quieting us with His love and singing over us. Doesn’t that image just make you feel better and smile?

Leave a Reply

