God is bigger . . .

♫ . . . than the boogie man, He’s bigger than Godzilla or the monsters on TV . . . ♫

And, you are welcome.

Today is Halloween. It’s a “holiday” I’ve never liked. Even as a child and my mom would drive us to our neighbor’s homes in the evening. I distinctly remember wearing my mom’s big coat and a one-size fits all mask with the smell of plastic and the feel of moisture because the eyes and nose never, ever fit correctly. I would hide on the floor of the backseat because I didn’t want to go trick-or-treating. Honestly, I hated that night each year.

I’ve always had a relationship with fear. In my childhood when I couldn’t sleep because of my fear-filled imagination, my mom would spend countless nights on her knees leaning against my bed praying for sleep to come and my fears be released.

I would repeat, “The Lord is my Shepherd . . . (Psalm 23)” more times than not. Bible verses about fear and God would jump out at me as I searched for comfort in His Word.

In my adult life, it is fear of failure. Fear of what others think. You know, that people-pleasing disease.

zephPerhaps that is why I like Zephaniah 3:17 so much. It is a beautiful word picture to me. He is quieting me with His love. Even in my messes and His “can’t this girl get it through her head how much I love her?” He isn’t scolding me. He is gently, lovingly quieting my mind and soul.

Do fear and lack of faith go together? If you ask others who are “smarter” than I, those smarty-pants would say yes. I don’t trust Him enough. I haven’t surrendered everything to Him. And, point to many Bible verses to back it up.

Perhaps there is truth in that. Perhaps it is me needing to rely on Him and remembering every time I am fearful, He is there. He knows me. He knows I call on Him. He knows.

Take heart if you are dealing with fear. God’s got you. God’s holding you. He is rejoicing over you with singing. He is so in love with you! Relax into that.

Makes you smile just thinking about it, doesn’t it.

Leave a Reply

