He’s Got This

Can I get a collective deep breath iiinnnn annnndddd out?

The past week has been a wild ride for this country. Who am I kidding, it has been a rocky ride for a long time. People are scared. People are worried. People are looking at themselves and other humans for answers.

I have seen enough news reports and social media to make me want to hurl my electronic devices out a window. People are scared. People are worried. And some, like myself, are a bit confused. Hear me out…

I get it that people are worried our freedoms will disappear. I get the sadness and rage when we hear and see people treated unfairly or without kindness. But, I wonder if we are looking too much inside ourselves that we are not seeing others who have it far worse than we. Talk to missionaries in the trenches in other countries seeing the citizens in major oppression.

Maybe it is my “white, female sheltered life” as someone pointed out a few months ago. One might even say it is because I didn’t go on to a form a “higher learning” to be “educated” in all things. Perhaps it is because my faith is as small as a mustard seed. And, to that I will never take offense.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. There are days I wonder what in the world is going on. Yet it all comes back to me (us) needing Jesus and having faith that His plan is the best. I need faith. Hope. Peace. Worship. Love.

Faith that we will pray for our leaders and the nation. 1 Timothy 2:1-4;  I urge, then, first of all, that petitions, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for all people— for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all people to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth.

Hope for us all as we work through issues of humanity not only in our own land but in foreign land. May we put our hope in HIM. May we strive to spread the hope of our Savior so that all may know Him and love Him.

Peace. Peace tand-if-not-he-is-still-goodhat God’s timing is absolute. Perfect in every way. Peace in knowing no matter what happens, good or bad, we will be okay.

Let us worship Him with abandon. During the good and the terrible times in our lives. Look at Job. He had so much going for him. His livestock overflowed the land. He had a good relationship with his children. Yet when everything was taken from him what did he do? He fell to the ground in worship. (Job 1:20) Worship during the worst of the worst.

Love. Oh, love. We are created in God’s image. The God who created us. (Genesis 1:27) Since we are created in God’s image and He loves us more than we can even fathom, doesn’t it seem like we need to love others as deep and wide as His love is for us? May we all be rooted and established in love. (Ephesians 3:17-18) May we extend that kind of love to others living on this planet created just for us.

I do not claim to have any answers. None. Shoot, I have more questions than answers! But I do know Who has the answers and that is enough for me.

Leave a Reply

