The Day We Barely Survived

It was a very traumatic day, I’m not going to lie. A day in which we felt as if we were savages.

For two hours, yes, that is correct, two whole hours we were without electricity. I know, right?! I can hardly believe it myself.

Two hours in which there was no TV, no internet, no microwave, hours of wondering how to clean the dishes already sitting in the dishwasher, no working hot water heater, and the list goes on. People, it got down to 66 degrees in this house. My cell phone only had 54% of its battery left. My Kindle only had 22% of its battery left. Savages, I tell you! Savages.

How will we eat? Don’t open that refrigerator or freezer because spoilage! Since we have a gas stove top we could heat some food but we’d have to get out matches to light it…oh, the energy and strength that would require. I’m exhausted thinking of it.

And, if we do eat, how will we wash the dishes without a working dishwater? Sure, we could wash dishes by hand but that would include…work…as in lighting the stove, heating up water in a pan and then, gasp, placing ones hands in hot water risking wrinkly, chapped hands! We are NOT living in the pioneering age, people!

What will we entertain ourselves with when the sun goes down and we cannot watch the 60 mph wind create whirlwinds causing the leftover stubborn leaves dance. Or watch the power lines bounce and sway. What will we do? What.will.we.do?!

If you couldn’t already tell, sarcasm and silliness reign in this post. However, since I’m a “learner” at heart, here are a few things I did actually learn.

  1. Always keep a “corded” phone stored in your house because one never knows if your cell phone will actually die…or your dad will try calling and not think about calling your cell phone – true story. Make sure you know where said phone is and dust every now and then in that location. Don’t ask. Just don’t ask…do as I say not as I do. Or something like that.
  2. I actually didn’t mind the quiet (besides the 60 mph wind). I read the month-old newspaper I never read before since my Kindle wasn’t going to do me any good.
  3. Eating cashews and a banana really does quench hunger and no dishes are used. Win-win. I could live like a savage…for a minute.
  4. We have it good. What is two hours (although the electric company gave themselves about 3 days when I reported the outage) in shelter. Yes, it would have been not so fun if the outage would have gone on for days. 30 degrees and no running furnace would have made it a bit challenging. And, spoiled food? No thank you. However, people in third-world countries live without our little-thought-of conveniences. We have it good.

As I try to recover from my trauma, I will leave you with this poem I call, “Ode to Electricity and Writing a Post When I am Exhausted”. (Catchy isn’t it)

Electricity, you fickle friend, you.

A little wind and you come unglued.

It’s not until you are gone I realize how I depend upon you.

Don’t leave me again, silly, silly you.

The end.

(drops mic, steps off stage…I’ll be here all week…but first SLEEP.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

