But God . . .

But God, you could have healed her.

But God, she doesn’t deserve what is happening to her children.

But God, he doesn’t love me.

But God, I’m only venting.

But God, why couldn’t you have prevented the accident?

But God, where are you and why didn’t you show up?!

But God, I want…

But God, that’s not fair!

Oh, the “but God“. Excuses, whining, questioning, control. I’m not God. Yet, I (may I be bold and insert “we”) try to control the outcome of almost every situation.

Is questioning God wrong? No, He knows our thought before we even question Him. But when the question becomes our focus instead of what God is doing or going to do with or in the situation? Then yes.

Do you remember the old song, Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus?

Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace.

Focus Chart ScaleWhen our eyes are focused on “Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to HIS power that is at work within us…” (Ephesians 3:20 – emphasis mine) we can stop focusing inward and start focusing on what God would have us do for others. May we move in obedience at the sound of God’s loving voice.

Personally, I want to train my mind, body and soul to say and think,

But, God is good!

But God, what would you have me do?

But, God is on His throne.

But God, You know best.

But, God’s will is perfect.

But, God, this situation is all yours. I give up control, help me not take it back.

But God, Your grace is sufficient for me.

But God, life is not fair but I will trust you.

But God, so be it (Amen). Dear Jesus…

 

Do you struggle with this? Will you join me in this renewing of the mind?

Leave a Reply

