Looking Through a Curtain

I slid the curtain letting the early morning light filter in the room; the sun just beginning to rise over the woods. My mind, still slow from just awakening, wondering if the curtain should be slid closed to keep the sun from warming up the room.

My hand rested on the curtain as I calculated how long until the rising sun reached the dark, looming, yet beautifully colored dark cloud. The sun would no longer pose a threat to my feeble attempts at keeping the room from heating up during the heatwave. Yet, the sun’s brightness would not fill my little corner of the earth if the cloud won.

Brightness which seems to make one feel all is right in the world. Brightness to see the beautiful blue sky and white fluffy clouds.

Yet, brightness to warm up the already warm, humid weather making it extremely difficult for those who labor in the sun.

That is when it struck me–me in all my fickleness.

I ride along enjoying life when it is going the way I want it (sun). The minute life throws rocks (I’m past lemons) at me, I get angry, hurt, cry the “it’s not fair” card (cloud). Yet, as the saying goes, the sun is always there no matter what is hiding it.

My perspective is not everyone’s. Some enjoy the cloudiness of life. Their perspective is different than mine. Some find it as just another bump in the road with a new problem to solve. They take it in stride instead of my dramatic (that hurt to admit) responses.

Perspective.

Shortly after this too-early-in-the-morning thought, I turned to Psalm 100 because sometimes I just need to be reminded…

Psalm 100
A psalm. For giving grateful praise.

Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth.
Worship the Lord with gladness;
come before him with joyful songs.
Know that the Lord is God.
It is he who made us, and we are his[a];
we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.
Enter his gates with thanksgiving
and his courts with praise;
give thanks to him and praise his name.
For the Lord is good and his love endures forever;
his faithfulness continues through all generations.

Leave a Reply

