Land of the Cleve and the Home of the Exhausted

As anyone should do, I took some much needed time off of work last week. Yes, I work part-time but one still needs to get away. And, just what did I do with all my free time? Well, come in really close and I’ll tell you…

I spent about 3 full days taking down wall paper border in two rooms. The 90s called and demanded I get with the times! Or perhaps one of our daughters demanded…I cannot say.

Two rooms with textured walls. Textured, did I mention that? And, back in the 90s a friend and I thought it a good idea to put EXTRA PASTE on said borders so it wouldn’t fall down. [we will now pause for a moment of silence as we remember how young and dumb we were.] Just say no to wallpaper, kids.

I am so very thankful I had the gumption to only put up borders when I was young and dumb. Wallpaper from floor to ceiling would have had me tearing down the walls and putting up new non-wallpapered walls. Oh my stars. I’m waiting until the fall, when windows can remain open, to paint. Paint fumes and I do not enjoy each other’s company.

I had a day to recuperate and then it was packing for our trip to the big city…Cleveland. My husband has successfully turned two out of three children into baseball fans. Since I would just people watch – which would lead to me getting hit with a baseball, in the head, have a brain bleed and die…yes, that escalated quickly – I decided to save us all that money and mourning period and stay back at the hotel.

Hotel. Oh, you fickle hotel. And, I haven’t mentioned it would not be a family (minus the one who just got back from an overseas vacation so don’t feel sorry for that one) vacation if we didn’t have issues. Let’s just say our room was a bit wet because the air conditioner was not working, therefore not removing humidity, and no other rooms available. Pool? Why yes, it did have a pool but the roof collapsed over the pool from a leak and therefore not open for use. By the time we left, the air was fixed and they discounted our room.

So, if you are keeping score, the Indians lost but it was dollar dog night and free sunglasses night so all is almost right with the world; our room was damp and our hairs frizzed but we got a discount!

The next day we, country bumpkins, explored downtown. Cleveland has three script “Cleveland” signs so we decided to go to the sign by the harbor. And, just our luck, and after we paid way too much dollars for parking, we discovered there was an all-day festival with parade, of course, at the same harbor. Yup, we know how to pick ’em.

At first we were all like, “We’ll just ‘bust’ through the crowds and get pictures with the sign and ‘bust’ back through to get out.” Oh, our silly, naive, little minds. We did see the sign, from afar, and noted the people and all the white tents around the sign and said a collective, “Nope!” and turned around.

We had tickets for an observation deck in one of the tall buildings. I asked the son how far the building was, because we were not going to pay way too much dollars at the parking garage just to move it 5 minutes later. Son said, “Not too far. We can walk there.” Ummmm, son?! Thirty minutes later, a bird scare, a few stops for pictures of building because nothing says tourist like whipping out a camera to take pictures of buildings, a walk through some fish-smelling water from a fire hydrant flush, we made it to the building. The sights from the observation deck were worth the walk.

19437701_1528696553871537_3642929308160799497_n

We walked around another 3 to 4 hours going to various places before I was like, “Just remember, we have to walk allllllll the way back to the parking garage.” Most of us were a bit red from the sun (it was a gorgeous day) and two out of four of us were trying to act like our aging hips and legs were not about to cry uncle and give out on us. But, I’ll let you imagine who those two could have been…

And the script sign? I’m so glad you asked. I was NOT going to leave Cleveland until I had a picture of that sign. And, it had better live up to my expectations! Thanks to GPS and the son, we got to the other park. Except it wasn’t at the part of the park we thought it was located. So, after google searching “where is the script Cleveland sign” we were on the road again and finally found it. And, yes, I was still happy.

19264454_10213137571537707_3066056000074788521_o
View of the skyline from the park. Patience, Grasshopper, picture of script sign from harbor below.

And the harbor? Well, we did go back the next day (free parking–you would have thought by our reaction it was Christmas!) to take pictures so all was well in the world.

19247820_1528704663870726_3576480049652950644_n

Overall, a wonderful trip; the memories and laughter sure overrode the small glitches. And, the night we arrived home, I may or may not have gone to bed at 8:30 and was still tired the next day. That is a sign of an awesome trip, right?!

Now, to you I say, “I’m so proud of you and thanks!” Why, you ask? Well, I’ll tell you why. You actually stuck with me and are reading this last paragraph. Give yourself (since there is probably only one of you who is still here) a big hug! Until next time…

Leave a Reply

