Sky Falling

The conversation left me feeling, once again, all “what is wrong with people and this world?!?!” Then, sadness began to creep in.

During a contemplative lull in the conversation, I gazed out the window at the wondrous blue sky of the clear early evening hours. Come, Lord Jesus became my mantra. Amen. This world holds nothing for me. Come, Lord Jesus. You, and only You, know the future. Help me to live a life of Amen (surrender). Help me love others. Dear, Jesus.

In Revelation 21 it says,

“Then I saw “a new heaven and a new earth,” for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Look! God’s dwelling place is now among the people, and he will dwell with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. ‘He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death’ or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away.”

Can you even imagine?!

For now, in all transparency, as much as I am sadden by events and issues of the world, I need to do my own housecleaning. What I say is venting is pretty much gossip. What angers me because of the unfairness is a pride and/or control issue. And, sadly, the list could go on. My sadness is not only for this world and its people but for the ways I have not been an example of Christ.

In Beth Guckenberger’s book, Start With Amen – How I learned to Surrender by Keeping the End in Mind, she states,

(page 14 & 15) “Living amen is a sacred rhythm. It is surrender to sovereignty in all circumstances. The result is a rapport with the living God so intense it permeates everything. It affects how I talk to my husband, interact with neighbors, spend money, make plans, and raise my kids. It influences how affected I am my other people’s thoughts of me or someone else’s crisis. It’s the antidote of fear or control that wars to raise its head in my thoughts. Surrendering to a life of so be it is an acknowledgment that my knee is bowed and someone else is on the throne. . . With my limited human understanding, I wonder how he allows all that he does, but whether I am shaking my fist or holding up my hand, the same will always be true: he has forever been and forever will be the King.”

Surrender, so be it, is not a sign of weakness. It acknowledges He is on the throne. And, thankfully, I am not! Surrender doesn’t mean I sit around and do nothing. Surrender opens me up for what God is doing.

As backward as it sounds, surrender is something I continue to fight for…getting myself out of the way and letting Him lead me down His glorious path. I am a slow learner. Emotions take over and I get in my own way. It is still not first nature to “think like God” in the moment of frustrations. It could be hours later before I realize I should have prayed or remembered God loves that person as much as He loves me. But, I’m trying.

Amen. May we all continue to be a work-in-progress as we look to You for guidance every single day. May I live a life of amen. Dear, Jesus.

2 thoughts on “Sky Falling

Leave a Reply

